Diploma of Journalism and New Media

Diploma of Journalism and New Media (CRICOS 114783E) at Australian College of the Arts

Diploma of Journalism and New Media (CRICOS course code 114783E) is a Diploma delivered by Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd over 1 year. This qualification sits at AQF Level 5 and falls under the field of Communication and Media Studies, specifically Journalism. Designed for aspiring journalists and content creators, the course equips students with foundational skills in news writing, digital media production, and ethical reporting. Australian College of the Arts (colloquially known as Collarts) is a private CRICOS-registered provider (03392K) with a focus on creative industries education. The course is delivered across multiple campuses in Melbourne’s inner north, including Collingwood and Fitzroy. As a CRICOS-registered course, it meets Australian Government standards for international student enrolment, ensuring ESOS Act protections. Whether you aim to work in broadcast, print, or online journalism, this diploma provides a practical pathway into the media industry. Note that HeadStart Academy is not a migration agent; always consult official sources for visa advice.

All listed providers are CRICOS-registered with the Australian Government
Data sourced directly from the official CRICOS register (April 2026)
Free resource — no commission, no referral fees
Covers 26,433 courses across all study levels and states
MetricValue

What you'll study

This Diploma covers the core principles of journalism and new media. Students explore news gathering, feature writing, multimedia storytelling, and digital publishing. The curriculum typically includes modules on media law, ethics, and audience engagement. As a broad-based communication qualification, graduates develop critical thinking, research, and communication skills applicable to various media roles. The course does not specify a single syllabus; for exact subjects, refer to the provider. The field of education (100703 - Journalism) indicates a focus on reporting and content creation across platforms.

Duration and study mode

The course runs for 1 year (52 weeks) as recorded on the CRICOS register. Instruction is in English, and it is a single qualification (no dual or foundation studies). While the CRICOS entry does not specify full-time or part-time, international students typically study full-time to meet visa conditions. No VET national code applies as this is not a VET course.

Fees (indicative – set by Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd)

Indicative tuition is A$29,080 with no additional non-tuition fees, making the estimated total A$29,080. These figures are sourced from the CRICOS register as at April 2026 and are subject to change by the provider. Always confirm current fees on the Collarts website (www.collarts.edu.au). Note that Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), living costs, and visa application charges are not included. For budgeting, consider Melbourne's indicative living costs: weekly rent A$250–450, groceries A$80–150, and public transport A$30–60.

Entry requirements (general guidance)

Typical English language requirement is IELTS 5.5–6.0 overall (or equivalent). Applicants should have completed Australian Year 12 or equivalent overseas qualification. Prior study in communication or media is beneficial but not mandatory. Foundation or pathway options may be available – consult the provider directly. Entry requirements are set by the institution and may differ from the CRICOS register.

Work component

This course has no mandatory work component. Work is not a required element of the program, though students may seek voluntary or paid work opportunities subject to visa conditions.

Delivery locations

The course is delivered at four locations in Melbourne, Victoria: 208 Wellington Street, Collingwood (Collingwood); 209 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy (South Melbourne); 67-69 Cromwell Street, Collingwood; and Level 2, 156 George Street, Fitzroy (Fitzroy). All campuses are within the inner north of Melbourne, close to public transport (trams and trains). Melbourne is home to over 150,000 international students and over 300 CRICOS-registered providers. The city offers a vibrant media scene with outlets like The Age, Herald Sun, and community broadcasters.

Student visa (Subclass 500)

International students on a Student visa (Subclass 500) can study this course full-time. Work rights allow 48 hours per fortnight during term and unlimited hours during scheduled breaks, subject to visa conditions. Applicants must meet the Genuine Temporary Entrant (GTE) requirement and maintain Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC). Financial capacity for tuition, living costs (A$21,041/year for a single student), and travel must be demonstrated. The ESOS Act protects your tuition fees and ensures education quality. For detailed visa rules, visit the Department of Home Affairs or consult a registered migration agent (MARA).

What to consider before choosing Journalism in Melbourne

Melbourne is Australia's media capital, hosting major news organisations, independent publishers, and digital startups. Studying journalism here offers access to internships, networking events, and a diverse cultural landscape. Living costs are moderate compared to Sydney, with weekly rent averaging A$300–500. Public transport is extensive with a myki card system. Consider the competitive nature of the industry; practical skills and portfolios are crucial. The Diploma provides a solid foundation, but you may wish to pursue further study or on-the-job training. Always check CRICOS registration via cricos.teqsa.gov.au to confirm course currency.

How to apply for Diploma of Journalism and New Media at Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd

1. Research CRICOS-registered providers: Filter by course level (Diploma), field (Journalism), and city (Melbourne) on HeadStart Academy or the CRICOS register. 2. Apply directly to your chosen institution: Submit your application through Collarts’ website. Prepare English test results (e.g., IELTS), academic transcripts, and personal statement. Deadlines vary – check with admissions. 3. Receive your Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) and apply for your Student visa (Subclass 500): Upon acceptance, you will receive a CoE. Use this to lodge a visa application via ImmiAccount, including OSHC and GTE evidence.

Explore Diploma of Journalism and New Media on the CRICOS register or contact Australian College of the Arts directly.

Other courses at Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd

View the full Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd profile →

Similar Diploma courses in Victoria

All Diploma courses in Victoria →

Source-backed course facts

Diploma of Journalism and New Media is a CRICOS-registered programme at Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd. Use this register extract [CRICOS register, Apr 2026] to cross-check codes, duration and indicative fees before you apply.

CRICOS register extract

Course
Diploma of Journalism and New Media
CRICOS course code
114783E
Provider
Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd (03392K)
Course level
Diploma
Field of education
10 - Creative Arts
Duration
52 weeks
Tuition (indicative)
A$29,080
Estimated total (indicative)
A$29,080
Delivery locations
Collingwood, South Melbourne, Fitzroy
Work component
No

This page is general information only and not migration advice. Confirm Student visa (Subclass 500) requirements with the Department of Home Affairs.

Important notes for international students

  • Tuition and living-cost figures on this site are indicative only — confirm current fees with the provider before you accept an offer.
  • HeadStart Academy is not a registered migration agent and does not provide immigration advice. For Student visa (Subclass 500) rules, OSHC and financial capacity, verify with the Department of Home Affairs or a registered MARA agent.
  • Only CRICOS-registered providers may enrol overseas students. Always check the CRICOS course and provider codes on your offer and Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE).

Related pages

Frequently Asked Questions

The indicative total cost is A$29,080, comprising A$29,080 tuition and A$0 non-tuition fees. These figures are from the CRICOS register as at April 2026 and are subject to change. Always confirm with the provider at www.collarts.edu.au. Additional costs include OSHC (approx. A$600–800/year), living expenses (A$21,041/year as per DHA), and visa fees (A$1,600).
The course duration is 1 year (52 weeks) on the CRICOS register. It is a full-time program. There is no accelerated or part-time option listed. The language of instruction is English.
General entry requirements include an IELTS score of 5.5–6.0 overall (or equivalent) and completion of Australian Year 12 or overseas equivalent. No specific prior journalism study is required. The provider may have additional criteria – check directly. Foundation studies are not part of this course.
The course is delivered at four campuses: two in Collingwood (208 Wellington Street and 67-69 Cromwell Street), one in Fitzroy (209 Brunswick Street, which may also be listed as South Melbourne area), and one in Fitzroy (Level 2, 156 George Street). All locations are in Melbourne, Victoria, with good public transport links.
CRICOS lists estimated total fees of A$29,080 for Diploma of Journalism and New Media (tuition A$29,080). Figures are indicative as at the April 2026 register snapshot — confirm current fees with Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd before applying.
The CRICOS course code is 114783E, offered by Australian College of the Arts Pty Ltd (provider code 03392K). Use these codes when checking your offer and CoE.