Certificate III in Individual Support (CRICOS course code 090743D) is a Certificate III delivered by Box Hill Institute over 26 weeks (~6 months). This nationally recognised qualification (CHC33015) equips students with the skills to provide person-centred support to elderly individuals, people with disabilities, and those requiring assistance in residential or community settings. As a CRICOS-registered course (090743D) offered by a government-owned TAFE institution, it meets the standards required for international student enrolment under the ESOS Act. Australia has over 1,500 CRICOS-registered providers offering more than 26,000 courses, and this course is specifically designed for those seeking a rewarding career in the growing aged care and disability support sectors. At HeadStart Academy, we provide free, data-driven guidance to help you navigate your study options—all information is sourced from the official CRICOS register (April 2026) and updated regularly.
| Metric | Value |
|---|
Certificate III in Individual Support (CRICOS course code 090743D) is a Certificate III (AQF Level 3) delivered by Box Hill Institute across 26 weeks (~6 months). The course is classified under the field of education 0905 - Human Welfare Studies and Services, specifically 090511 - Residential Client Care. It provides foundational training for individuals aiming to work as personal care workers, support workers, or assistants in aged care, disability, and community service environments. Box Hill Institute, established in 1924, is a government-owned TAFE with CRICOS provider code 02411J. Delivered in English, this is a single qualification (not a dual award) and does not include foundation studies. The course includes a mandatory work component of 6 weeks (23 hours per week, approximately 138 total hours), allowing students to gain hands-on experience in real healthcare settings.
Students in the Certificate III in Individual Support gain practical and theoretical skills in providing individualised support to clients in residential and community settings. The curriculum typically covers topics such as supporting independence and wellbeing, communicating effectively with diverse clients, following safety and infection control procedures, and providing personal care (e.g., hygiene, mobility assistance). Graduates learn to work under supervision in aged care homes, disability day services, or home care environments. This qualification aligns with the Australian Community Services and Health Industry Standards, preparing students for roles such as personal care assistant, residential support worker, or community care worker. The course does not specify a detailed syllabus on the CRICOS register, but the field of 'Residential Client Care' indicates a focus on residential aged care and disability support.
The Certificate III in Individual Support is delivered over 26 weeks (~6 months) as recorded on the CRICOS register. The language of instruction is English, and it is a single qualification (no dual award or foundation studies component). The course is offered on a full-time basis at Box Hill Institute's campuses. While the CRICOS entry does not specify a study mode, TAFE courses typically combine classroom learning with practical placements. International students must maintain full-time enrolment to comply with their student visa conditions. The 26-week duration allows for an intensive learning experience, including the embedded work placement.
The indicative tuition fee for Certificate III in Individual Support at Box Hill Institute is A$9,029, with non-tuition fees listed as A$0, giving an estimated total of A$9,029. These fees are sourced from the CRICOS register as at 1 April 2026 and are set by the institution. Please note that Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), living costs, and the Department of Home Affairs visa application charge are not included. Living costs in Melbourne (where Box Hill is located) are approximately A$2,500–A$3,000 per month for a single student, including rent, groceries, and transport. For the most current fee information, always check Box Hill Institute's official website at www.boxhill.edu.au. Fees are subject to change, and no guarantee is provided.
International students must meet English language requirements: typically IELTS 5.0–5.5 overall (or equivalent). Prior academic qualifications expected for Certificate III level include completion of Australian Year 10 or equivalent. Some providers may also require a police check or working with children check due to the nature of the work placement. Foundation or pathway options may be available if you do not meet the direct entry requirements—contact Box Hill Institute for details. HeadStart Academy does not assess individual eligibility; always verify entry requirements directly with the provider. As a CRICOS-registered course, this programme adheres to the ESOS Act protections, ensuring you receive quality education and consumer rights.
This course includes a mandatory work component of 6 weeks (23 hours per week, approximately 138 total hours). This work-integrated learning, often called a clinical placement or industry placement, provides hands-on experience in aged care homes, disability services, or community health settings. During the placement, students apply their classroom knowledge under supervision, developing real-world skills in personal care, communication, and teamwork. The placement hours are integrated into the 26-week course duration, meaning you'll gain practical experience alongside theoretical study. This component is essential for meeting the requirements of the CHC33015 national training package and for future employment eligibility.
The course is delivered at two campuses in Victoria: Box Hill Institute of TAFE, located at 465 Elgar Rd, Box Hill (a suburb of Melbourne), and Lilydale Lakeside Campus, located at 1 Jarlo Dr, Lilydale (a town in the Yarra Valley region). Both campuses are well-connected by public transport. Box Hill is a major activity centre in Melbourne's east, with train and bus services, while Lilydale has train services to the city. Melbourne is home to over 300 CRICOS-registered providers and a large international student population. Estimated weekly living costs in Melbourne are A$450–A$600 for rent, groceries, and transport. The choice of campus may depend on your preferred location and accommodation options.
International students enrolling in this course must apply for a Student visa (Subclass 500). Key requirements include: genuine temporary entrant (GTE) criteria, sufficient financial capacity to cover tuition, living costs, and OSHC, and meeting the institution's entry requirements. With a Student visa, you can work up to 48 hours per fortnight during term and unlimited hours during scheduled breaks, subject to visa conditions. You must maintain enrolment in a full-time CRICOS-registered course and adhere to attendance and progress requirements. OSHC is mandatory for the duration of your visa. For detailed advice, consult a registered migration agent (MARA) or the Department of Home Affairs. HeadStart Academy is not a migration agent and does not provide immigration advice.
Follow these three steps to start your journey in Certificate III in Individual Support at Box Hill Institute: 1) Research CRICOS-registered providers: Use HeadStart Academy's tools to filter courses by level (Certificate III), field (Human Welfare Studies), and location (Victoria). 2) Apply directly to Box Hill Institute: Check entry requirements, including English test scores (IELTS 5.0–5.5) and academic documents. Submit your application online before the deadline. 3) Receive your Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE) and apply for your Student visa (Subclass 500). With your CoE, lodge your visa application online, pay the A$1,600 (approx.) visa application charge, and arrange OSHC. Once approved, you can plan your travel and accommodation near your chosen campus.
Begin your application process today: Research CRICOS providers, apply to Box Hill Institute, and secure your CoE for your student visa.
Certificate III in Individual Support is a CRICOS-registered programme at Box Hill Institute. Use this register extract [CRICOS register, Apr 2026] to cross-check codes, duration and indicative fees before you apply.
This page is general information only and not migration advice. Confirm Student visa (Subclass 500) requirements with the Department of Home Affairs.