Certificate IV in Disability Australia

Certificate IV in Disability (CRICOS course code 111941J)

Certificate IV in Disability (CRICOS course code 111941J) is a Certificate IV delivered by International Institute of Management Pty Ltd over 1 year. This nationally recognised qualification prepares students for rewarding careers in the disability sector, with a focus on person-centred care and community participation. As a CRICOS-registered course, it meets rigorous Australian Government standards, ensuring quality education for international students. The course is delivered at 180 Logan Road, Woolloongabba, QLD, with indicative fees of A$7,990 (tuition plus non-tuition). Students benefit from a 6-week work placement, applying theory in real-world settings. HeadStart Academy provides this information from the official CRICOS register (April 2026). With over 1,500 CRICOS-registered providers and 26,000 courses, Australia offers extensive study options. All courses listed on HeadStart Academy are CRICOS-registered, and students are protected under the ESOS Act. International students require a Student visa (Subclass 500) and must maintain Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC).

All listed providers are CRICOS-registered with the Australian Government
Data sourced directly from the official CRICOS register (April 2026)
Free resource — no commission, no referral fees
Covers 26,433 courses across all study levels and states
MetricValue

What you'll study in Certificate IV in Disability

This course falls under the field of Society and Culture, specifically Human Welfare Studies and Services (Care for the Disabled). At AQF Level 4, students develop advanced skills in supporting individuals with disabilities, including person-centred planning, behaviour support, and advocacy. Graduates typically work as disability support workers, team leaders, or case coordinators. The curriculum covers topics such as individualised support plans, community inclusion strategies, and working with families. The course is part of the CHC Community Services Training Package, ensuring national consistency. The demand for qualified disability workers in Australia continues to grow due to the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), creating strong employment prospects for graduates. Students learn to empower people with disabilities to live fulfilling lives while respecting their rights and choices.

Duration, study mode and language

The Certificate IV in Disability is delivered over 1 year (52 weeks) as a full-time program. The language of instruction is English. This is a single qualification with no dual awards. Although the CRICOS register does not specify study mode, delivery is typically face-to-face at the provider's campus. There are no foundation studies components. The 1-year duration includes both classroom learning and the mandatory work placement. All duration details are sourced from the CRICOS register as at April 2026.

Course fees and additional costs

The indicative fees for this course are: tuition A$7,595 and non-tuition A$395, giving an estimated total of A$7,990. These fees are set by International Institute of Management Pty Ltd and are subject to change. They do not include Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), which costs approximately A$500–700 per year, or living expenses such as rent, food, and transport. In Brisbane, weekly living costs are around A$600–800. The visa application charge for a Student visa (Subclass 500) is also additional. Always check the provider's website (www.americancollege.com.au or www.americancollege.edu.au) for the most current fee schedule. HeadStart Academy sources fee data from the official CRICOS register and updates it periodically.

Entry requirements for Certificate IV in Disability

International students typically need an IELTS overall score of 5.0–5.5 (or equivalent in other accepted English tests). Prior academic qualifications equivalent to Australian Year 12 are usually expected. Some providers may also require relevant work experience or a pre-training assessment. Foundation or pathway options may be available for students who do not meet direct entry requirements—check with International Institute of Management Pty Ltd. All entry requirements are set by the provider; it is essential to verify specific conditions before applying. HeadStart Academy recommends contacting the provider directly for detailed information.

Work placement and practical training

This course includes a mandatory work component of 6 weeks, with approximately 120 total hours (hours per week not specified on CRICOS). This work-integrated learning typically involves an industry placement in a disability support setting, such as a residential care facility, community centre, or day program. Under supervision, students apply their skills in person-centred support, behaviour management, and daily living assistance. The placement provides invaluable real-world experience and helps students build professional networks. It is a key feature of vocational courses in Australia, ensuring graduates are job-ready. The provider will arrange placements, but students may need to meet certain prerequisites (e.g., police check, vaccinations).

Where the course is delivered

The course is delivered at: 180 Logan Road, WOOLLOONGABBA — WOOLLOONGABBA, QLD 4102. Woolloongabba is an inner suburb of Brisbane, just 3 km from the central business district. The campus is accessible via bus and train, with the Woolloongabba busway station nearby. Brisbane is Queensland's capital and Australia's third-largest city, home to over 100 CRICOS-registered providers and a large international student community. Living costs in Brisbane are moderate compared to Sydney and Melbourne, with average rent for share accommodation around A$500–700 per week. The city offers a vibrant lifestyle with numerous parks, cultural events, and proximity to the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast.

Student visa and studying in Australia

International students must hold a Student visa (Subclass 500) to study this course. The visa allows work up to 48 hours per fortnight during term and unlimited hours during scheduled breaks, subject to visa conditions. Applicants must satisfy the Genuine Temporary Entrant (GTE) requirement, provide evidence of financial capacity (tuition, living costs, OSHC), and maintain Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of their stay. All CRICOS-registered courses are protected under the Education Services for Overseas Students (ESOS) Act, which ensures tuition assurance and refund protections. HeadStart Academy is not a migration agent; for visa advice, consult a registered MARA agent or the Department of Home Affairs.

Is Queensland right for you?

Queensland is a popular study destination for international students, offering a warm climate, diverse landscapes, and a relaxed lifestyle. Brisbane, where this course is delivered, has a thriving student community with over 200,000 international students. The state has more than 300 CRICOS-registered providers across cities and regional areas. Cost of living in Brisbane is generally more affordable than in Sydney or Melbourne: weekly rent A$500–700, groceries A$100–150, and public transport A$50–100. The region also offers excellent post-study work opportunities in sectors like healthcare, tourism, and mining. Consider your preferences for climate, city size, and career opportunities when choosing Queensland. HeadStart Academy provides free resources to help you compare destinations.

How to apply for Certificate IV in Disability at International Institute of Management Pty Ltd

Follow these three steps to apply: Step 1: Research CRICOS-registered providers like International Institute of Management Pty Ltd (CRICOS 03149K). Ensure the course is CRICOS-registered (code 111941J) and compare course levels, fees, and locations using HeadStart Academy's free tools. Step 2: Apply directly to International Institute of Management Pty Ltd. Meet entry requirements (IELTS 5.0–5.5, prior qualifications). Submit your application along with required documents (transcripts, English test results). Check application deadlines and any additional requirements. Step 3: Upon acceptance, you will receive a Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE). Use this to apply for a Student visa (Subclass 500) via the Department of Home Affairs. Prepare for the GTE interview, arrange OSHC, and demonstrate financial capacity. HeadStart Academy does not process applications; all enquiries should be directed to the provider.

Ready to apply? Ensure you meet the entry requirements and contact International Institute of Management Pty Ltd for the latest application process.

Other courses at International Institute of Management Pty Ltd

View the full International Institute of Management Pty Ltd profile →

Similar Certificate IV courses in Queensland

All Certificate IV courses in Queensland →

Source-backed course facts

Certificate IV in Disability is a CRICOS-registered programme at International Institute of Management Pty Ltd. Use this register extract [CRICOS register, Apr 2026] to cross-check codes, duration and indicative fees before you apply.

CRICOS register extract

Course
Certificate IV in Disability
CRICOS course code
111941J
Provider
International Institute of Management Pty Ltd (03149K)
Course level
Certificate IV
Field of education
09 - Society and Culture
Duration
52 weeks
Tuition (indicative)
A$7,595
Estimated total (indicative)
A$7,990
Delivery locations
WOOLLOONGABBA
Work component
Yes (120 total hours)

This page is general information only and not migration advice. Confirm Student visa (Subclass 500) requirements with the Department of Home Affairs.

Important notes for international students

  • Tuition and living-cost figures on this site are indicative only — confirm current fees with the provider before you accept an offer.
  • HeadStart Academy is not a registered migration agent and does not provide immigration advice. For Student visa (Subclass 500) rules, OSHC and financial capacity, verify with the Department of Home Affairs or a registered MARA agent.
  • Only CRICOS-registered providers may enrol overseas students. Always check the CRICOS course and provider codes on your offer and Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE).

Related pages

Frequently Asked Questions

Indicative total fees are A$7,990 (tuition A$7,595 plus non-tuition A$395). These are sourced from the CRICOS register and subject to change. Additional costs include OSHC (approx A$500–700/year), living expenses (A$600–800/week in Brisbane), and the visa application charge. Always confirm current fees with the provider.
The course duration is 1 year (52 weeks) as per the CRICOS register. This includes a 6-week work placement. Study is full-time. The duration reflects the standard time to complete the program, though individual circumstances may vary.
International students typically need an IELTS overall score of 5.0–5.5 (or equivalent). Prior academic qualifications equivalent to Australian Year 12 are expected. Some providers may require relevant experience or a pre-training assessment. Check with International Institute of Management Pty Ltd for specific requirements.
The course is delivered at 180 Logan Road, Woolloongabba, QLD 4102. Woolloongabba is a suburb of Brisbane, easily accessible by public transport. Brisbane has over 100 CRICOS-registered providers and a large student population. The campus is close to the city centre.
CRICOS lists estimated total fees of A$7,990 for Certificate IV in Disability (tuition A$7,595). Figures are indicative as at the April 2026 register snapshot — confirm current fees with International Institute of Management Pty Ltd before applying.
The CRICOS course code is 111941J, offered by International Institute of Management Pty Ltd (provider code 03149K). Use these codes when checking your offer and CoE.